Understanding #ProLife and a Time to Stop, Weep, and Pray.

Posted: January 31, 2017 in Uncategorized

I was at the #MarchForLife in Washington D.C. yesterday*. I couldn’t escape the difficult contradiction that while thousands were marching for life our U.S. President was signing what could be a death warrant for many refugees when he signed the executive order halting refugee resettlement. The implementation of this executive order appears now to not only halt arriving refugees but possibly send them back to the country they were fleeing persecution*though it appears there have been some released.

16299365_10210861920720824_7838406244591215119_n.jpg

#WhyWeMarch was certainly about protection of the unborn and never less(I’ve preached, taught, & wrote much on this, see here). I’ve tried my best to fight for the unborn and grieve for the almost 60 million lives lost to abortion. But having a biblically-driven understanding of being pro-life means standing for all vulnerable: for the unborn, for the refugee & immigrant, fighting against racism, for orphancare, care for the elderly & disabled veterans, serving the poor, fighting against human trafficking- and the list could go on and on. I hold this robust pro-life ethic (caring & fighting for all vulnerable from the “womb to the tomb”) and am deeply grateful to have been in Washington to be a part of the Evangelicals For Life conference #EFL2017 that the ERLC hosted (thanks Russell D. Moore) around the #MarchForLife to focus on fighting against those injustices and for the vulnerable.

I had a deep struggle as I knew the President had sent VP Pence to the rally while the President headed over to the Pentagon and rallied that this executive action was a show of national defense.

While I publicly grieved and acted with thousands during the focus on the horrific 44th anniversary of Roe v. Wade I now post this after a whirlwind trip and am emotionally numb and mentally exhausted from it all. I hope to offer reflections and ways to respond later, but all I’ve said from earlier this week in a call to
Pray and Act is still true.

But now we must add a call to weep.
“Hear my prayer, O Lord,
and give ear to my cry;
hold not your peace at my tears!….” ~Psalm 39:12a

My friend and former colleague who I marched with, Matthew Soerens, wrote this for the Washington Post and it captures some of my sentiments:

https://www.washingtonpost.com/…/i-dont-only-march-for-un…/…

Since having the opportunity to minister to refugees & immigrants in various capacities for quite a few years now I’ve always had a compelling biblical call to “rescue” as found in Proverbs 24:

If you faint in the day of adversity, your strength is small. Rescue those who are being taken away to death; hold back those who are stumbling to the slaughter.
If you say, “Behold, we did not know this,” does not he who weighs the heart perceive it? Does not he who keeps watch over your soul know it, and will he not repay man according to his work.”

Much could be drawn from these verses but there is a call of helping and rescuing the vulnerable being potentially killed. The U.S. refugee resettlement program(while FAR from perfect-more on that at a later time) is an avenue to do that for us. Yes, we can go abroad and help refugees there and should; but I believe we should try to engage in the refugee crisis both ways.
Please read and and consider heeding from Ed Stetzer’s post: http://www.christianitytoday.com/…/how-to-respond-as-follow…

Do we need to talk policy and reform? Yes.
Do we need to talk about protection for our country? Absolutely.
Do we need to know facts on refugees and terrorists’ threats? You betcha.
Do we have to rest in God’s gracious sovereign plan? Yes, may the Spirit help us.

And many more conversations we need to have. But for now I can only think of more droves of precious people created in God’s image that could more easily be led to slaughter. Some I know by name.
So I stop, weep and pray.

 

*posted via Facebook on 1/28/2017

Leave a Reply

